Close Menu


John L. Anderson

Illinois Institute of Technology President, 2007–2015

John AndersonJohn L. Anderson served as the eighth president of Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) from 2007 to 2015. Prior to joining IIT, he served as provost and executive vice president of Case Western Reserve University and dean of engineering at Carnegie Mellon University. A distinguished professor of chemical engineering at IIT’s Armour College of Engineering, he began his academic career as a faculty member at Cornell University. A member of the National Academy of Engineering and its governing council, and a presidential appointee to the National Science Board, he received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign, and his bachelor’s degree from the University of Delaware. During his tenure as IIT’s president, he led the efforts that achieved financial stability, improved the faculty, invigorated alumni relations, and enhanced the student experience. Total enrollment of full-time students grew significantly, and first-to-second-year retention improved to 91 percent. Awards supporting faculty research increased, and the institution added 15 new endowed chairs. A tireless traveler, he reconnected thousands of alumni, across the country and around the world, to the university. As noted by a former student, “John developed the optimum mix of short-term, mid-term, and long-term solutions that has directed us on a path to greatness.”

Lewis Collens

Illinois Institute of Technology President, 1990–2007

Lew CollensPrior to assuming the presidency, Collens served for 16 years as dean of IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law.

As president, Collens introduced IIT’s signature Interprofessional Projects (IPRO) Program as part of the university’s undergraduate academic curriculum. Under his leadership, the university also successfully completed a $250 million Challenge Campaign and began a program of reinvestment in buildings and grounds on Main Campus. The latter included the construction of both The McCormick Tribune Campus Center and State Street Village residence hall.

Collens is a director of AMSTED Industries Incorporated, Dean Foods, Alion Science and Technology, the Colson Group, AllCell Technologies, the Chicago Council on Science & Technology, and the Civic Consulting Alliance. He also serves on the Advisory Committee of The Partnership for New Communities.

Collens received a B.A. in accountancy and an M.A. in philosophy from the University of Illinois. He holds a J.D. from the University of Chicago.

Collens and his wife Marge are members of the Philip Danforth Armour Society, which recognizes the university’s most generous benefactors.

Meyer Feldberg

Illinois Institute of Technology President, 1987-1989

John Anderson

Meyer Feldberg is a former president of Illinois Institute of Technology. He joined IIT in 1986, first as president-elect and then as president from 1987 until 1989. Prior to serving as president of IIT he was dean of Tulane University’s Freeman School of Business.

Feldberg’s tenure was marked by significant expansion of the university’s physical facilities, including the $4 million gift of land in Wheaton to build IIT’s Daniel F. and Ada L. Rice Campus, and the $7 million gift by CPC International of a research and development facility in Bedford Park that is today the university’s Moffett Campus and home of the Institute for Food Safety and Health.

From 1989 until 2004 Feldberg served as dean of Columbia Business School. In 2005 he joined Morgan Stanley as a senior advisor, a position in which he remains.

In 2001 the International Center in New York honored Feldberg as a distinguished foreign-born individual who has made a significant contribution to American life. In 2007 Mayor Michael Bloomberg appointed Feldberg as president of New York City Global Partners, a city entity that connects New York City to other global cities around the world. Feldberg is currently a director of Macy’s Inc., Revlon Inc., UBS Global Asset Management, and UBS A&Q. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the New York City Ballet.

Feldberg received his B.A. from the University of Witwatersrand, his M.B.A. from Columbia University, and his Ph.D. from the University of Cape Town.

Indira V. Samarasekera

Ketnote Speaker

Indria SamarasekeraIndira V. Samarasekera served as the 12th president and vice chancellor of the University of Alberta, one of Canada’s most respected research-intensive universities, from 2005–2015.

Samarasekera is internationally recognized as one of Canada’s leading metallurgical engineers for her groundbreaking work on process engineering of materials, especially steel processing. She has consulted widely for industry worldwide, leading to the implementation of her research discoveries. Samarasekera has also devoted her career to advancing innovation in higher education and the private sector, providing national and international leadership through invited lectures and participation on national and international boards and councils. She was awarded the Order of Canada in 2002 for outstanding contributions to steel process engineering. In 2014 she was elected as a foreign member of the National Academy of Engineering, the profession’s highest honor.

As a Fulbright-Hays Scholar, she earned a M.Sc. from the University of California in 1976. In 1980 she was granted a Ph.D. in metallurgical engineering from the University of British Columbia (UBC).

She is currently a distinguished Fellow in Residence at the Liu Institute for Global Issues at UBC and a corporate director. She sits on the Board of Directors of Scotiabank and Magna International, and is on the selection panel for Canada’s Outstanding CEO of the Year. She serves on the boards of the Asia Pacific Foundation of Canada and the Rideau Hall Foundation.

Bud Wendorf (ME ’71)

Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Bud WendorfBud Wendorf is the fourth alumnus to serve as chairman of the IIT Board of Trustees. A veteran executive of the power industry, he retired in 2013 from a 41-year career at Illinois-based Sargent & Lundy after serving nearly a decade as its chairman and chief executive officer. Wendorf is a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, a member of Pi Kappa Phi and the National Society of Professional Engineers, and has served on the boards of directors of the Nuclear Energy Institute and Construction Industry Round Table.

Wendorf joined the IIT Board of Trustees in 2008, and he is immediate past co-chair of Fueling Innovation: The Campaign for IIT. He also served on the Alumni Association Board of Directors from 2007 until 2013, and has a passion for reconnecting IIT alumni worldwide.

An active alumnus, Wendorf and his wife, Suzanne, support IIT through leadership and philanthropy. They established the Alan and Suzanne Wendorf Endowed Scholarship to help fund the Collens Scholars Program, which provides IIT scholarships to graduates of Chicago Public Schools from disadvantaged backgrounds. Wendorf also gives generously to engineering education and the Interprofessional Projects (IPRO) Program. He was recognized in 2011 with the Collens Merit Award for his dedication and involvement in the programs he supports at IIT. The Wendorfs are members of the Philip Danforth Armour Society, which recognizes the university’s most generous benefactors

Wendorf and his wife have two children and three grandchildren. They reside in Wheaton, Ill.