Close Menu

The Team


David Mogul 
Phone: 312-567-3873

Nicholas Hatsopoulos
Phone: 773-702-5594


Regular Members of the Center are faculty members at the Illinois Tech or the University of Chicago. Affiliate Members of the Center belong to affiliated institutions, such as the Argonne National Laboratory. Click on the name of a Regular or an Affiliate member from the list below to learn about their research program.

Gady Agam (Computer Science) -- Neuroimaging

Yali Amit (Statistics) -- Image processing algorithms

Konstantinos Arfanakis (Biomedical Engineering) -- Neuroengineering

Sliman Bensmaia (Organismal Biology and Anatomy) -- Neural coding, neural basis of perception

Sandra Bishnoi (Biological, Chemical and Physical Sciences) -- Nanoparticle synthesis, surface chemistry, surface enhanced Raman scattering

John Cacioppo (Psychology) -- Social neuroscience, neuroimaging

Emil Coccarro (Psychiatry) -- Psyciatric disorders, neuroimaging

Jack Cowan (Mathematics) -- Theoretical neuroscience

Jean Decety (Psychology & Psychiatry) -- Social cognitive neuroscience

Jennifer Kang Derwent (Biomedical Engineering) -- Retinal vascular disease

David J. Freedman (Neurobiology) -- Cognitive, systems, and computational neuroscience

Melina Hale (Organismal Biology and Anatomy) -- Motor control in zebra fish

Dorothy Hanck (Medicine) -- Voltage gated ion channels

Nicholas Hatsopoulos (Organismal Biology and Anatomy) -- Primate motor cortex; neural prosthetics

Mark Hereld (Argonne National Laboratory) -- Large scale modeling, parallel computation

Naoum Issa (Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Physiology) -- Physiology of visual cortex

Richard P. Kraig (Neurology) -- Activity-dependent neuroprotection

Benjamin B. Lahey (Health Studies and Psychiatry) -- Clinical child psychology, epidemiology, and behavior genetics

Jason N. MacLean (Neurobiology) -- 2-photon, circuits, computational neuroscience

Daniel Margoliash (Organismal Biology and Anatomy) -- Neuroethology; bird song

David Mogul (Biomedical Engineering) -- Epilepsy

Howard Nusbaum (Psychology) -- Speech perception

Callum Ross (Organismal Biology and Anatomy) --Motor control in primates

Murray Sherman (Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Physiology) -- Physiology of the thalamus

Steven Shevell (Psychology) -- Color perception

Sam Sisodia (Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Physiology) -- Alzheimer's disease

Ana Solodkin (Neurology) -- Motor recovery after stroke; early diagnosis of Alzheimer's

Gopal Thinkaran (Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Physiology) -- Cell and molecular biology of Alzheimer's disease

V. Leo Towle (Neurology) -- Epilepsy; neuroprosthetics

Philip Troyk (Biomedical Engineering) -- Neuroprosthetics

Vincent Turitto (Biomedical Engineering) -- Cell and tissue engineering

Wim Van Drongelen (Pediatrics) -- Epilepsy

Paul Vezina (Psychiatry) -- Drug abuse

Xiaoxi Zhuang (Neurobiology, Pharmacology and Physiology) -- Dopaminergic reward systems