Close Menu

Joint Programs and Shimer College

Joint Engineering Programs

IIT has established joint engineering programs with the following Chicago area institutions: Wheaton College, Benedictine University, Elmhurst College, Dominican University, DePaul University, Lewis University and University of St. Francis. This program differs from a 3+2 transfer program in that students earn two bachelor's degrees: an engineering degree from IIT and a bachelor's degree in an approved discipline from their host school.

Students will live on the campus of their host school while completing the requirements for both degrees. Admission into the Joint Engineering program at another institution does not guarantee admission to IIT.

Joint Programs FAQ

Benedictine University
DePaul University
Dominican University
Elmhurst College
Lewis University
Wheaton College

Shimer College

Shimer, the Great Books College of Chicago, is an independent institution located at the 3424 State Street building. Shimer's students have access to IIT's facilities and Shimer and IIT students have cross-registration opportunities for selected classes.

Form for IIT Students to take Shimer College courses
List of Course Equivalents at Shimer College
Shimer Course Schedule