Close Menu

Course Scheduling Resources

Find resources pertaining to the course scheduling production timeline and policies on this page. The policies described on this page apply to all credit-bearing degree programs scheduled in shared academic space by the Office of the Registrar. For more information, please contact registrar@iit.edu.

Scheduling Overview

Course schedules are produced each semester prior to the beginning of registration. Review the Academic Calendar for upcoming registration and semester dates. Each department has a designated course scheduler responsible for timely submission and maintenance of their department's schedule. Requests to add or remove course sections from the schedule may be submitted only by the designated course scheduler. Questions regarding specific course offerings should be directed to the designated course scheduler for the department.

Instructions

The timeline for submitting the course schedule is distributed each semester during the Course Schedulers Meeting. The Course Schedulers Meeting Memo includes the notes from the meeting as well as the timeline for course schedule production and online publishing.

  1. Download the previous department(s) schedule in Excel format from the Course Status Report. To request access to the Course Status Report, please contact registrar@iit.edu.

  2. Use the previous schedule from the same term as a template for the new schedule. For example, to build the Fall 2017 schedule, use the Fall 2016 schedule as a template. Highlight courses that are being added or removed from the schedule.

  3. Ensure that all course offerings conform to the meeting times indicated in the schedule grid. Exceptions to the university grid will require a detailed explanation from the department and may delay schedule input and classroom assignments.

  4. Submit the Excel file to registrar@iit.edu prior to the submission deadline specified in the Course Schedulers Memo. Department schedules submitted after this deadline may not be published online in a timely manner.

  5. Once the schedule has been edited based on the Excel file, verify the schedule for accuracy via the Course Status Report. Send any schedule revisions to registrar@iit.edu for processing.

Credit Hour Ratios (Contact Hours)

Illinois Tech measures credit hours in accordance to the Carnegie Unit for class scheduling and academic credit awarding purposes. Classes are scheduled to provide 750 contact minutes of instruction per credit hour in any given term. A three credit hour class typically meets for 150 minutes each week during the 15-week semester. The 16th week of the semester is reserved for final exams and is not used in calculating contact time.

Illinois Tech also complies with the federal definition of the credit hour. The federal definition is consistent with the university's historical practice in developing degree programs, courses bearing academic credit, and the scheduling of courses.

Class Meeting Times

All classes meeting in shared classroom spaces must conform to the standard time blocks indicated on the University Schedule Time Grid. Classes must be scheduled according to the number of contact hours listed in the catalog for lecture and lab meeting times. Consult the Undergraduate Bulletin and the Graduate Bulletin to verify contact hours for specific courses. To update the contact hours for a course, submit the Course Add/Change/Delete Request Form. This form must be submitted prior to the beginning of registration for the upcoming term.

Lecture Meeting Times

2 Days/Week 50 Minutes 75 Minutes

MW, TR, WF

9:00 - 9:50am 8:35 - 9:50am
10:00 - 10:50am 10:00 - 11:15am
11:25 - 12:15pm 11:25 - 12:40pm
1:50 - 2:40pm 1:50 - 3:05pm
3:15 - 4:05pm 3:15 - 4:30pm
5:00 - 5:50pm 5:00 - 6:15pm
6:25 - 7:05pm 6:25 - 7:40pm
7:50 - 8:40pm 7:50 - 9:05pm
3 Days/Week
MWF, TRF 9:00 - 9:50am N/A
10:00 - 10:50am
11:25 - 12:15pm
1:50 - 2:40pm
3:15 - 4:05pm
5:00 - 5:50pm
6:25 - 7:15pm
7:50 - 8:40pm

Lab Meeting Times

Monday-Friday, Once per Week 2 Contact Hours 3 Contact Hours
8:35 - 10:15am 8:35 - 11:15am
10:00 - 11:40am 10:00 - 12:40pm
1:50 - 3:30pm 1:50 - 4:30pm
5:00 - 6:40pm 5:00 - 7:40pm
6:25 - 8:05pm 6:25 - 9:05pm
 

Scheduling Resources

Important Links

Course Schedulers

Contact the course scheduler for the pertinent department to request information regarding course offerings or to request a specific course to be offered in the current or upcoming term.

DepartmentCourse Scheduler(s)Email
Architecture (Architecture and Urbanism, Landscape Architecture) Cynthia Torres ctorres2@iit.edu
Biology Tanya Bekyarova bekytan@iit.edu
Biomedical Engineering Jennifer Kang-Mieler kang-mieler@iit.edu
Business (Economics, Marketing Analytics, MBA, Management Science, MSF, Public Administration, Sustainability Management) Justine Grant jgrant2@stuart.iit.edu
Nadya Lakirovich nlakirovich@stuart.iit.edu
Civil and Architectural Engineering (Engineering Graphics, Engineering Management, Environmental Engineering) Paul Anderson andersonp@iit.edu
Leslie Goodloe goodloe@iit.edu
Chemical Engineering Beatrice Person person@iit.edu
Chemistry Zabel Panosyan panosyan@iit.edu
Benjamin Zion bzion@iit.edu
Computer Science Matthew Bauer bauerm@iit.edu
Electrical and Computer Engineering Jafar Saniie saniie@iit.edu
English Language Services (English Language Program, Intensive English Program, Professional Communication Advancement, Proficiency of English as a Second Language)   els@iit.edu
General Engineering (Armour College) Darci McHale mchale@iit.edu
Food Science and Nutrition Renee McBrien mcbrienr@iit.edu
Humanities (Art and Architectural History, Communications, History, Literature, Philosophy) Gregory Pulliam pulliam@iit.edu
Institute of Design Matthew Mayfield mayfield@id.iit.edu
Industrial Technology and Management Cynthia Spoor spoor@iit.edu
Interprofessional Projects Thomas Jacobius jacobius@iit.edu
Information Technology and Management Amber Chatellier achatell@iit.edu
Mathematics David Maslanka maslanka@iit.edu
Michael Pelsmajer pelsmajer@iit.edu
Mechanical, Materials, and Aerospace Engineering; Materials Science Jessica Nicholson nicholsonj@iit.edu
Math and Science Education Sharon Grant grant@iit.edu
Physics Alan Glodowski glodowski@iit.edu
Professional Learning Nuala Power npower@iit.edu
Psychology Francis Lane lane@iit.edu
Science (SCI 511 and SCI 522 only) Elizabeth Friedman friedman@iit.edu
Social Sciences (Lewis College of Human Science, Political Science, Sociology) Rebecca Steffenson rsteffe1@iit.edu
 

Classroom Assignments

Academic classes are assigned in shared academic classrooms based on a number of factors including the enrollment of the course, pedagogical needs to deliver academic materials, and proximity to departmental-specific resources such as laboratories. The Office of the Registrar automatically assigns classrooms approximately three weeks prior to the beginning of the upcoming semester. Requests submitted by the primary faculty member teaching a course to reassign a classroom are processed on a first-come, first-served basis, and must be submitted prior to the add/drop deadline (see the Academic Calendar for the pertinent deadline). Please contact registrar@iit.edu for details regarding the procedures for requesting a classroom reassignment. Note that not all reassignment requests can be processed.

Registration

As registration begins, students and faculty may request updates to the course schedule. Consult the Registration page for more resources regarding registration policies and procedures. Submit requests to registrar@iit.edu to update course schedules, request additional seats in a course, add new sections of a course, or for other pertinent course-related issues.

Additional Resources