Close Menu


IIT Provost Dr. Alan Cramb

Welcome to the website for Illinois Institute of Technology's Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Alan Cramb.

As provost, he directs all university educational activities associated with achieving the mission and vision of the university. Along with President John Anderson, Provost Cramb has been leading the university's effort to implement a new updated strategic plan for the university, which was approved by the Board of Trustees in February 2014. Titled Many Voices, One Vision, the plan has outlined the university's strategic academic and research priorities, and will serve as a strong resource base for Illinois Tech programs and strategic initiatives through 2019.

Many Voices, One Vision Strategic Plan

Provost's Bio

Alan Cramb is the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Illinois Institute of Technology where he is responsible for the academic programs and mission of the university. He is the Charles and Lee Finkl Professor of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering and a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

He received his B.S. in Metallurgy from Strathclyde University, Glasgow in 1975 and his Ph.D. in Materials Science from the University of Pennsylvania in 1979. He then spent seven years conducting and managing research within the steel industry. In1986 he joined the faculty of the Materials Science and Engineering Department at Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) and in 1990 became the co-director of the Center for Iron and Steelmaking. He then helped the Center transition from a local to a fully international center with a worldwide membership. In 1997 he was awarded the Posco Chair at CMU and in 2000, he became head of the Materials Science and Engineering Department.

Provost Cramb was appointed Dean of Engineering and the John A. Clark and Edward T. Crossan Professor of Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in 2005. His responsibilities included oversight of current and future initiatives in research and education for one of the leading engineering schools in the U.S. He joined Illinois Institute of Technology as provost in 2008.

He is the holder of two patents and the author of more than 200 publications.  He was the recipient of the AISI Medal in 1985 and 1986, the Robert Woolston Hunt Award of the Iron and Steel Society (AIST/ISS) in 1987, and was awarded the Benjamin Richard Teare Award at CMU for excellence in engineering education in 1995. In 2000, he was elected president of the Iron and Steel Society. He was named the John Elliott lecturer of TMS/ISS in 2002 and in 2003 he was awarded the Benjamin Fairless Award of the American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers (AIME). He became President of AIME, was chairman of the University Materials Council, and became a board member of ABET in 2005. In 2007 he gave the Henry Marion Howe lecture of AIME/AIST) and in 2012 he gave the Brimacombe lecture of AIST. He is a Distinguished Member or Fellow of AIST, AIME, The American Society for Materials (ASM), The American Academy for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the Iron and Steel Society of Japan (ISIJ).